"All Things"

An adoptive mom who loves Christ, family, running, fitness, and all things health related.

Long Run Report

I just got back from my long run: 15 miles finished in 2:20 & feeling good!

Today was nearly perfect running weather.  I say “nearly” perfect, because truly perfect would have been just a little less wind that I had to fight; however, other than that, it was perfection- cool & sunny!

I ran the first 4 miles by myself around my neighborhood.  After 4 miles, I swung back by my house where Beeker was waiting on the driveway on his bike.  He is so great- I didn’t even have to stop.  Like last week, he rode alongside me to coach me, talk to me, and hand me my water.  Beek and I decided that I really do have to practice drinking more water, even when I don’t feel like I need it.  Since my marathon is in June, it is really important that I get used to drinking on my runs to make sure that I am properly hydrated.  I hate carrying water, though, so  it is tricky to remember to drink it.  Unfortunately, my husband can’t ride his his bike next to me during he marathon. Durn it.

I went into this run really wanting to run a negative split (run the second half faster than the first).  I tend to go out super fast and then have to slow down because I can’t sustain the pace. Today, however, I accomplished my goal and was able to run a negative split!!

My miles looked like this:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 2:20:18.1 15.00 9:21
1 9:28.6 1.00 9:29
2 9:19.9 1.00 9:20
3 9:30.1 1.00 9:30
4 9:20.4 1.00 9:20
5 9:45.4 1.00 9:45
6 9:31.4 1.00 9:31
7 9:25.6 1.00 9:26
8 9:18.5 1.00 9:19
9 9:29.4 1.00 9:29
10 9:23.6 1.00 9:24
11 9:09.9 1.00 9:10
12 9:17.4 1.00 9:17
13 9:08.6 1.00 9:09
14 9:04.0 1.00 9:04
15 9:03.7 1.00 9:04
16 :01.6 0.00 15:29

Overall, I am really happy with this run.  I felt strong at the end, and it was an easy pace- I was able to carry on a conversation with Bri the whole time. Feeling good!

I think the success of the run was partly due to my awesome fueling last night!

I try to eat some type of pasta or carb- heavy meal the night before my long runs.  I was so happy when my mom told me that she made us baked ziti! Yum!

After dinner we headed out to the going away party for the youth pastor of our church- who also happens to be our really good friend.  He is following the Lord’s call to Canada- to be the youth pastor at a really awesome church! We are SO sad to see him go, but are excited to see what the Lord has planned for him.  It is inspiring to know someone who follows God’s will for his life, even when it means moving his entire family to another country.  I can’t wait to see how the Lord is going to them.  The best part of the evening was when the kids all crowded around him to pray for him and his family. So beautiful!

Image

Love these people.

I also really loved the cookies 😉

Right now I have a date with my foam roller, then Beeker and I are going to see my niece in her school play! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Long Run Report

  1. Wow, kickin’ pace!! Nice job! I think after we are done marathon training, I’m going to have hubs come along w/ me on my long runs on a bike too-nice to have the company AND the water! =) Said a prayer for your youth pastor. My brother James was a youth minister for a while, now he’s the main pulpit minister. My oldest brother is also a minister =)
    I hope your date w/the foam roller goes well! =)

  2. Thanks, girl! Having him alongside me is so great! Thank you for praying for our friend- that is so awesome that your brothers are in ministry! Love it 🙂

  3. Look at that pace!!! You are amazing girl!!!!!! I need to get a foam roller and compression socks. Do you use compression socks? Do you think they work?

    Ps. Super jealous of your running mate/ biker rider/ stalker look alike Hubs! LOL….(I wonder if people know you are together or think he just following you) Does bri run and if he did would you guys keep the same pace? Pat ran once. Lol…he had to chase the dog down.

    pps. I am even more jealous of the baked ziti from mom!!!!!!! send left overs

    • Thank you!! Yes, you should get a foam roller- it is so awesome & hurts so good. Rolling out on the foam roller has really helped to decrease my soreness after long runs. I actually do not have my own pair of compression socks, but I sometimes wear Brian’s. He swears by them, but I have yet to get myself a pair!!

      It is so funny that you said that Brian must look like a stalker when he bikes next to me- we were laughing about that during the run! He does run (not a lot currently), and we run at the same-ish pace. I am a little faster, but only because I run more often 😉

      Baked ziti= ah-mazing.

Leave a Reply

