"All Things"

An adoptive mom who loves Christ, family, running, fitness, and all things health related.

breaking spring & a day of eats!

Spring break? It snowed here all day yesterday! This weather is crazy…

Even if this weather is nutty, I still love having off, duh.

It is so nice to wake up without an alarm, and enjoy a leisurely breakfast, and be able to make a great lunch and dinner.

Today, I thought it would be fun to post a day of eats…

The past two mornings, I’ve made a mexican egg white scramble, which is so good!

Image

In the mix- peppers, tomatoes, and salsa. Please notice my awesome mug- perfect for this week 😉

During the week it is always rush, rush, rush.  I have loved having the time to actually savor my breakfast, instead of trying to eat it as I frantically do my hair and make up to make it out the door on time.

For lunch, I enjoyed a bowl of homemade turkey chili and a big salad.

Image

I’m noticing a mexican theme on this blog….

Image

bread & butter pickles = ❤

I was feeling smug with my delicious lunch, until Beeker sat down next to me with his- a grilled turkey & cheese sandwich made on the waffle iron.  Genius.

SprintPhoto_beejsm-1

#59392 reason why I love the Beek- his culinary creativeness.

In the afternoon, I ran and then did yoga with my sister, Annmarie.  I am really loving yoga on Mondays- it makes me feel strong and is a great way to stretch out after my long runs on the weekends- especially for my hip flexors.  I hope to keep this up throughout my marathon training, which will *hopefully* help to prevent injury.

During our workout, I was trying to think of a really great snack that I could make for the afternoon.  As I downward dogged it and breathed through my poses, I thought of the perfect thing: pumpkin pie greek yogurt.

So, when we were finished, I eagerly went into the kitchen to make this:

SprintPhoto_btwstm

pumpkin pie greek yogurt

To make this, I combined some pumpkin (about 1/2 cup) with one cup of plain greek yogurt, cinnamon, and a dash of sweetener.  I topped it with a spoonful of cool-whip.  The cool whip turned out to be the best part, ha!  This recipe still needs a little bit more tweaking- it is hard to balance the tart taste of the greek yogurt with the expected sweetness of pumpkin pie.  Maybe I could try vanilla greek yogurt?

For dinner, I roasted a turkey loin in the crock pot and Beek made homemade garlic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.

SprintPhoto_b5ozum

Perfect dinner

There you have it- a day of eats, courtesy of Spring Break!

I am off to run- 7 miles is on tap.  I am going to wear capris and pretend like it’s spring-like weather!

 

What is your favorite afternoon snack?

Has the spring weather arrived yet where you live?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “breaking spring & a day of eats!

  1. Love all the food shots – especially the grilled cheese one, clever!!!

  2. 🙂 Thanks! I know, I am always jealous of his concoctions.

Leave a Reply

