"All Things"

An adoptive mom who loves Christ, family, running, fitness, and all things health related.

Remember how it feels to be done.

Man, this week has been relentless.  I was still battling the sinus infection and then I got pink eye.  So gross. I thought only 3rd graders got pink eye? Jeez Louise.

I was feeling really run-down (no pun intended, ha) last night, so I decided to sleep in this morning and push my workout to the afternoon. I *though*t that sleeping an extra hour would  help me to wake up refreshed and feeling better.

When the alarm went off at 5, I sluggishly hopped in the shower and began getting ready for work.  It felt SO WEIRD not to run.  It is so funny how acclimated my body has become to running first thing in the morning.  Not moving this morning felt as weird as not showering or not brushing my teeth- it just felt off.  I felt this way all day- like I never quite woke up.

By the time I got home, I was ready to just run my mile and call it quits for the day.  For me, the problem with working out in the afternoon is that I have the entire day to talk myself out of it.

My training schedule had me doing 3 miles today- which is NBDl- but my motivation was just really lacking. It is so funny how the little workouts are the ones that sometimes get to me. As I contemplated blowing off my training run, I thought to myself,

“Remember how it feels to be done.”

3 miles – 27 minutes- and it would feel so good to be DONE- knowing I had a good workout and did not blow it off. I knew that I would regret not completing my run.

So, I laced up my shoes and decided to run fast- shake it out- and have fun.  This, I thought, is what running is all about- a chance to clear my mind and remind myself that I am strong.

I grabbed my Garmin,turned up my tunes, and was out the door- feeling tired strong and determined.

When I stepped out the door, I was greeted by a cool breeze and sunny skies.  Perfect. Smiling, I began.  This was going to be a good run.

Until I started running down the street, into the wind. Seriously, that “little” cool breeze that greeted me when I walked out the door turned into a beastly freezing wall, which was trying to get me to quit. And, it was doing a good job.

Again, I thought- Remember how it feels to be done. Just keep going. Lock and load.  Almost there.  You can do it.  I was channeling all of the motivational catch phrases that I see on signs while running a race. This “positive self-talk” was both motivating and incredibly annoying.

Since I was running an up-and-back, I was convinced that I would be rewarded for my battle with the wind on the way back.  I thought that when I turned around, the wind would be at my back and it would help to propel me forward. With a wind like that pushing me, I could run like a track star.

Until I turned around.

I was still fighting that beastly wind.  How is that possible? I felt like a weird old person who talks about “walking uphill both ways” to school.  How can the wind be against me both ways?

Despite wanting to quit- I pushed against that wind- dreaming of how nice it would be to walk through my front door.

27 minutes later, I opened my front door- sweating, with numb hands, wind-blown hair, and the biggest smile on my face.

I was done- and it felt GOOD.

 

What motivates you to workout?

Would you rather run in the cold, wind, or rain?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Remember how it feels to be done.

  1. What a yucky week for you! I hope you’re feeling better. My day feels SO off if I dont workout in the morning. Even 10 min on the elliptical is better than nothing. Otherwise, like you, I just feel 1/2 asleep all day. So weird.
    Glad you got your run in! I NEVER regret going, but ALWAYS regret NOT going =) Good for you =)
    I think I’d cold!

  2. GREAT job!!!! Getting chills just thinking about running now!

  3. olivetorun on said:

    Can I choose warm rain? 🙂

Leave a Reply

