"All Things"

An adoptive mom who loves Christ, family, running, fitness, and all things health related.

Luck o’ the Irish

Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

First, this:

Image

The cutest little Irish woman. At just barely 5 feet, this shirt is more than appropriate. 

Seriously, how cute is my mom? I think she is the cutest thing in this world! She was going to a 50’s Themed party at church- but also incorporated her Irish heritage into her outfit.

 

 

Image

Love her.

So, I ran yesterday.  12 miles total.  

It was actually really nice. I decided to just go slow and circled around my neighborhood so that I could cut it short if I didn’t feel well.  In a weird way, I think running actually helped my sinus infection. The air was really cool and crisp, and I felt like I could breathe for the first time since Wednesday! Midway through my run it started to snow.  I love running in the snow- so beautiful!  It snowed all day long; by the afternoon, my view out my back window looked like this:

Image

A winter wonderland- on March 16th!

I completed my run just before it started to really snow hard- thank God.  I finished 12 {hilly} miles in 1:55:34.  Definitely not my fastest times, but I wanted to make sure that I went easy and didn’t push myself.  I would say that the first 11.5 miles were really great and strong.  The last .5 mile was a beast. I wanted to stop. I hated it.  But, I pushed through. I was NOT going to quit on the last half mile. What is it with the last part of a run? I know it is all mental….

After, I showered and then refueled with eggs, ham, strawberries, and toast.

Image

Protein & carbs = perfect after a long run.

The breakfast ham that I had was only 50 calories for 2 pieces. Score.

I had a serious date with my couch for the rest of the afternoon.  My mom, who is a fairytale, surprised me with a hot pretzel from the Philly Soft Pretzel factory in the afternoon.  She is the best.  For dinner, Brian made bruschetta chicken, green beans, garlic toast, and sweet potato “pods”.

Image

Aren’t those sweet potato “pods” so cute?  We just found them in the freezer section and they are seriously delicious. 

Beeker and I had a major movie fail last night.  We decided to rent a movie online- “Taken 2”.  I was super excited and got all ready on the couch with a blanket, cup of hot chocolate, and my hunny.  After we paid, we realized that the movie was going to take 5 hours (!!) to download.  Yes, we have the internet speed of 2006.  Womp womp.  So, we had to settle by watching a cheesy movie on TV- “Licensed to Wed”. Definitely different from what I had prepared to see in “Taken 2.”  Now it’s downloaded, but we only have 24 hours to watch it. Boo!

Oh well, it was a great night nonetheless. 

We are celebrating St. Patricks Day today with church, a parade (that our niece Haley is marching in), and dinner at my sister’s house.  Of course, the best part will be our family’s annual tradition of going to McDonalds for SHAMROCK SHAKES! 

YESSSSS. So lucky.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! May the luck o’ the Irish be with you! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Luck o’ the Irish

  1. We did same thing last night…movie night! Relaxed on the couch:) So funny you were going to watch Taken 2 because I saw that on Netflix and was thinking about it! We actually watched Hotel Transylvania – a kid movie – but funny. I like them sometimes. Enjoy your shake – I’m hoping to get one later too after Couples Connection. See you tomorrow friend! xo P.S. Agreed that your mom is so cute and I really want to try those sweet potato pods – never heard of them!

    • So funny! Glad your movie night wasn’t a fail like ours, haha. I like kid movies, too! Yay for Shamrock Shakes! I really hope you finally get one! 😉 The sweet potato pods are so good- they are in the freezer section! I think they would be good for your girls, too! The next time I get them I will have to look and see what brand they are. xoxoxo

  2. Isn’t it funny that when our moms (or maybe its us) get to a certain age, they become ‘cute’? I love it =)
    Its funny you mention that about working out because I feel the same way-that sometimes I feel better afterwards!
    That is a pretty good pace for a long run-great job!
    How did your hubby cook the chicken?? It looks PERFECT!!

    • Yes! That is funny! My mom is seriously adorable! Thanks for the encouragement on my run 🙂

      The chicken was marinaded and cooked in Kraft’s Bruschetta dressing. We just pour it over the chicken and cook on 350. It makes it so tender and delicious.

  3. Sometimes I marinate for 12 hours or so. Other times, I just pour the dressing over the chicken before cooking. It just depends on if I remember to do it beforehand (I am not the best at thinking ahead, haha). Yes, I use boneless skinless and cook uncovered for about an hour-depending on how thick the chicken breasts are.

Leave a Reply

