"All Things"

An adoptive mom who loves Christ, family, running, fitness, and all things health related.

Fitness for the Week: Becoming Strong

This week will look like this:

Sunday: 1 mile run & 3 mile walk with Bertha 

Monday: 1 mile + Jillian yoga

Tuesday: 3 miles + push-ups/abs strength

Wednesday: 6 miles at marathon pace

Thursday: 3 miles + pus-ups/abs strength

Friday: 1 mile / off

Saturday: 12 miles!

I think the thing that I love the most about training for a race is the structure. I love having a schedule and being able to cross workouts off my list. Love the feeling of accomplishment I get after a week of strong workouts. I love building strength.

I love that I am a strong mom- I think this will be one of the greatest gifts that I give my babies. Throughout our journey I have been working on my strength- physically, spiritually, and emotionally. 

Our journey to our babies is SO hard, but SO blessed. This experience has allowed me to grow in ways that I never thought possible and has helped me to become closer to the Lord. We are in such a vulnerable, scary place as we wait for our referral. There is nothing that we, nor anyone else, can do it make it happen (unfortunately). Only God can make it happen.  Going through times like this in life- when you have no choice but to trust in the Lord-is both extremely humbling and extremely exhilarating. It allows you to trust in God in ways that you never knew possible- because there is no other choice. Even when I am weak, HE is strong.  One of my favorite verses is 2 Corinthians 12:9:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest in me.

I have many weaknesses- and these weaknesses are just an opportunity for the Lord to do His thing! I choose to trust in the Lord.  I choose to cling to His promises.  I choose to glorify Him through it ALL.  I pray that our journey has allowed God’s glory to shine and that He has been honored and praised through our adoption. I pray that other people can see the Lord working through our story.  I pray that this is the week that we {finally} get to see our sweet babies’ faces.

————-

Eats:

The spaghetti dinner was so great last night. I was so proud of the kids- they worked so hard and were excellent servers! How wonderful to have 100+ members all join together to bless and support students desiring to serve the Lord through mission trips! The food was delicious- I dreamt about pasta last night! haha!

I woke up this morning extremely thirsty and so hungry.  I am determined to not overeat today!

For breakfast, made veggie and egg white scramble with sauteed baby potatoes. It was delicious and filling.

Image

I wish I had time to make a breakfast like this during the week

Church was great- our pastor prayed with us at the alter- such a powerful prayer.  Of course, the tears were streaming. So many people are praying for us, with us, petitioning the Lord on behalf of our family. We are confident that God hears our prayers and is working in a mighty way right now.

After church, I came home and sauteed vegetables and ham for lunch. In the mix was red pepper, tomato, mushrooms, and spinach. I ate it with greek yogurt.  Very delicious.

ImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tonight my mom is making stuffed steak for dinner- yum! Now she and I are headed out for our walk! 🙂 Dreaming of spring and warmer weather….

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fitness for the Week: Becoming Strong

  1. aw I love mom time (and mom-cooked food!!) Have a great time tonight!

    I’m not a planner when it comes to my workouts because they rarely ever happen then. lol. I admire people who make plans and stick to it!

  2. Me too! My mom is the best:) Thanks!!

    I need to plan; otherwise, I have an excuse to do nothing! If I look at my calendar and see that I have to do something, I will usually do it. However, if nothing is there, I’ll throw caution to the wind and take 18 consecutive rest days, haha!

Leave a Reply

