"All Things"

An adoptive mom who loves Christ, family, running, fitness, and all things health related.

Thank you, Mr. Presidents

As an American Government teacher, I believe that I have an above average appreciation for the Presidents.  Today, my love is OTT. Seriously loving the Presidents for giving me this day off 😉

Really, how great is a Sunday night when you know that you have Monday off? A fairytale. Last night was great.  Beeker made tacos for dinner and yummy yummy homemade sweet potato chips.

Image

Our table all set for Taco Sunday.

I love when Beeker makes tacos – he lightens them up by using ground chicken and mixes in sauteed green peppers and diced tomatoes to the mix. So good.

 

Image

Image

Homemade sweet potato chips

Those sweet potato chips- holy yum. So hard to not go back for seconds on those!

I’ve given up sweets and having seconds at dinner for Lent.  Sounds so crazy, but I always have seconds and/or pick at leftovers after I’ve eaten my dinner.

Bri and I were trying to think of giving up something that the rest of the world does not have or enjoy.  I thought about how many people around the world do not have the luxury of having dinner, much less having enough for leftovers, so I decided to focus on not overindulging.  Even in just a few days, it has really opened my eyes to how much I have been eating after my “normal” plate at dinner!

Last night we watched “Killing on Lincoln” on the National Geographic Channel.  Nerds unite! I thought the acting was a little cheese ball, but liked it otherwise.

This morning I slept in to 7:30 (glorious), then got up and had egg whites and coffee.  Then, I got out the door for my 6 miles.  It was so so so cold and so windy! I felt like I was fighting the wind the ENTIRE time. Holy cow.  It was a great run, though.  I finished in 52:27 and felt confident! Feeling strong.

My sisters and mom also had off today, and we were supposed to do lunch. However, my sister Kristianna decided that it would be fun to come up and we could all work out together before we went to lunch- yay!!! 🙂 🙂

So, I came in from my run and got in the shower to wash off the “I just ran outside” smell off of me.  Seriously, isn’t that smell gross? By the time I got out, Kristianna and Holly were here!! Holly just makes my world so much brighter.  Love love LOVE her so much!

Image

The Holly Dolly

Image

This face…

We did a sister’s workout – Jillian’s 6 week 6 pack abs level 1.  I usually use 5 lb weights, but only had 2.  I let Kristianna and Ree use the 5 lb and I used the 10 lb.  Whew! Tough!

After showers and Holly kisses, we were so hungry, so we all headed to Salad Works with our mom.  I created my own salad with chicken, tomatoes, peppers, cheese, and bacon bits.  I also had butternut squash soup on the side.  Holy mackerel.  That butternut squash soup is life changing.  I will be dreaming about it now…

We decided to check out a new Marshalls- and guess who did not buy anything for herself? THIS girl! Beeker will be so proud….

Making ham and vegetables for dinner and pretending that I do not have to go to work tomorrow.  I can’t complain, though.  Today was ah-mazing.  Thanks, Presidents.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

